David Sampson, born in Charlottesville, Virginia, makes his Albany Records debut with a disc of exciting, highly original music. In the past you may have heard such orchestral works as Hommage: JFK, Simple Lives, and Reflections on a Dance (for brass and percussion); you then know his music is rhythmically charged, intense in its emotions and dramatic in its orchestration, comparable to such composers as William Schuman and Benjamin Lees. One of his specialties is writing for brass; among his trumpet teachers were such stellar names as Gerard Schwarz, Gilbert Johnson, Robert Nagel and Raymond Mase. His composition teachers included Karel Husa, Henri Dutilleux and John Corigliano, so you have some idea of the exciting sounds to be heard here. This is an important disc for those with an interest in contemporary American music; brass fanciers will obviously find this very attractive too!

  1. Serenade For Flugelhorn (instrumental)
  2. Sonata Forty: Crisis
  3. Sonata Forty: Shadows
  4. Sonata Forty: Sentiments
  5. Sonata Forty: Resolve
  6. Strata For Brass Quintet: I
  7. Strata For Brass Quintet: II
  8. Strata For Brass Quintet: III
  9. Dectet: I
  10. Dectet: II
  11. Dectet: III
  12. Dectet: IV

David Sampson, composer
Serenade for flügelhorn and string orchestra
Raymond Mase, flügelhorn, Czech Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra, Paul Polivnick, conductor

David Sampson, composer
Sonata Forty
Scott Brubaker, horn, Ron Levy, piano

David Sampson, composer
American Brass Quintet

David Sampson, composer
Wihan String Quartet, Afflatus Wind Quintet, Richard Ormrod, piano